July 16, 2021


Keeping you updated on latest news.

BREAKING: Buhari Sacks Service Chiefs, Names Replacements

service chiefs

The Presidency has sacked the military chief of staffs and named their replacement. President Muhammadu Buhari today accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

President Buhari thanks the outgoing Military Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.
The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President in a statement released by Femi Adesina Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity congratulates the new military heads, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.

Recall that both federal legislative house of Senate and Representatives had severally called on the Presidency to sack the service chiefs in light of the increasing insecurity woes in the country. several other notable citizens and civil rights organisations also lent their voice to this vote of no confidence on the erstwhile service chiefs